Municipal Clerks' Association of New Jersey, Inc.
Special Executive Board Meeting Minutes
September 9, 2012
Home of 2nd Vice President John M. Mitch
270 Ella Ave, Avenel, NJ

CALL TO ORDER: President Pavlica called the meeting to order at 1:00 P.M.

FLAG SALUTE AND MOMENT OF SILENCE: The meeting commenced with the flag salute and a moment of silence.

ROLL CALL: President Andrew J. Pavlica, 1st Vice President Nancy Saffos, 2nd Vice President John M. Mitch, Treasurer Keith Kazmark, Past President Joanne M. Kwasniewski, Executive Director Joel Popkin

ABSENT: None

APPROVAL OF MCANJ SCHOLARSHIP AND VOLUNTEER STIPENDS FOR THE 2013 IIMC CONFERENCE:

Executive Director Popkin presented the revised plan for the IIMC 2013 Conference. The Board discussed it and made a minor revision. The basic concept of the plan is for the MCANJ to give a \$75 Scholarship to all MCANJ members who attend the entire IIMC Conference and \$20 to those who attend for one day. It also provides for a \$50 stipend for 60 MCANJ members who volunteer for at least 5 hours during the conference. The plan also will provide an additional \$50 for those MCANJ members who do not qualify for IIMC's "First Timer" discount. Motion to accept this amended plan was made by 1st Vice President Saffos and seconded by 2nd Vice President Mitch. The motion carried unanimously.

CANDIDATES FOR IIMC SECRETARY:

President Pavlica reviewed the process to fill the vacated position of Secretary. Since Patricia Hunt resigned effective July 31, 2012, it was necessary to solicit candidates to fill

the position of Secretary.

The following are MCANJ members who filed to fill the position during the required time

Emilia R. Strawder, Longport Borough
Diane Pflugfelder, Liberty Township
Ann Marie McCarthy, Franklin Township
Dina Zawadski, Deptford Township
Kevin Galland, Woodland Park Borough
Eileen Gore, Hamilton Township

Denise Szabo, Bernards Township

The consensus was to follow the election process and not to consider the two candidates who filed for Secretary by the July deadline. (Ann Marie McCarthy and Dina Zawadski). The Board further discussed the qualifications of the remaining candidates.

Motion to select Denise Szabo to fill the position of MCANJ Secretary was made by Past President Kwasniewski and seconded by $\mathbf{1}^{\text{st}}$ Vice President Saffos. The motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business, a motions was made by 1st Vice President Saffos and seconded by Treasurer Kazmark, to adjourn the meeting at 3:00 P.M. The motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Joe Popkin

Executive Director/Acting